Grease Is Still The Word

The play was a gas! We found out when we got down there that it was opening night, so the atmosphere was truly festive. Lots of folks in 50’s garb – I had no idea that girls could still find poodle skirts for events like this, but they were in abundance.

They had a dance contest before the show for volunteers from the audience. Loretta and I passed on the opportunity, but have now decided some swing dance lessons might be fun. The dancers were judged by the audience in 2 groups (adults and kids).

One of the little girls that won was being "interviewed" by the DJ conducting the contest. When she said her name was Ashley and that she was 10 years old, the DJ started off on a whole "Valley Girl" spiel, "Hi, my name is like Ashley, and I’m like 10, and I like live in Englewood, fer sure, totally…"

The girl just stared at him like he had 3 heads, and wagged her index finger in a circular motion by her head indicating that the guy was totally nuts. It was too cute, the crowd absolutely roared.

The production was excellent and Frankie sang 5 or 6 songs at the curtain call including his big hits like "Venus" and "Ooo eee ooo ahh ahh, ting tang, walla walla bing bang."

Now just try to get that tune out of your head suckers.

 

Annette and Frankie

 

Our thoughts are with you Annette. MS is a horrible disease and my heart goes out to you.

About mkprilliman

Gainfully employed mad scientist
This entry was posted in Diversions. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grease Is Still The Word

  1. SillyCrystalD says:

    hey turkey butt! that hurt!!QUOTE – "Glad you\’re likin\’ it – sounds tons better than dealing with butt-head hotel patrons. Oh – by the way, *smack* – you\’ve just been blog ass slapped. Santa got me and now I got you. http://spaces.msn.com/members/azureus/Blog/cns!1p_sRM3b5mQ-m_e4_qMHR3pA!1831.entry May 25 9:14 AM Published by: HopelesslyAporetic (http://spaces.msn.com/members/mikeprilliman/) "i\’ll get you my pretty…and your little beanie hat too 😛

  2. Diana says:

    Glad to hear you like Grease! I was in a production in greas in high school and now I can\’t watch the movie….the horror of those damn songs!!! Oh ya and damn you for the wala wala bing bang!! Jerk…I\’ll be singing it all night!!Also, Loved the nicknames: John Revolta and Olivia Neutron-Bomb! LoL!!Take Care!

  3. Melissa says:

    ….I didnt get slapped….. :(I had the soundtrack for grease when I was little…Oh and thatnks for tha "ew ee ew ah ah…" gonna be in my head all day damn you!

  4. Unknown says:

    I still own the soundtrack – get this, on vinyl. Isn\’t that a hoot?

  5. Mike says:

    @Pea – LOL, just don\’t send any flying monkeys, they creeped me out when I was a kid.@Pridi & FBC – Sorry about the song (NOT). It has the same effect on me, sorta like the Oscar Meyer jingle. Awwww crap.@Roberta – Vinyl is not a second class media source around here – I actually have a post somewhere in the dungeon about my efforts to rip some of my LP vinyl to mp3\’s (a project now on hold until much colder weather).

  6. Unknown says:

    Ooohhh. I\’m swooning. You are my man. I love my vinyl collection, sure wish I had a needle for my record player…I wish I were an Oscar Meyer Weiner…

  7. ·•--ÅzÛrËû§--•· says:

    I do have to thank you for the idea of sending out two slaps instead of just one.. Great idea… but you know what this means dontcha…yeah, I know you do.. and Youknow this is gunna hurt me more than it hurt you.. Now just bare down and make ready you ass hunny cause here it comes!!!! *the wind up and the pitch……CCAARRAACCKK!!!!!* Yeah, you liked it didntche.. naughty boy… So Tag.. You\’re it!http://spaces.msn.com/members/azureus/Blog/cns!1p_sRM3b5mQ-m_e4_qMHR3pA!1831.entry

  8. Krista says:

    This ass slap game is getting out of control!! I had to smack some random person this morning! Anyways glad to hear you had fun at Grease! Oh by the way Valley Girl is one of my favorite movies!! Like totally for sure!

Leave a comment